Workers Defense League Awards Dinner - 5/24/12

The 76th annual awards dinner of the Workers Defense League was held on May 24th. OSA Chair Bob Croghan and Executive Director Sheila Gorsky were jointly honored, along with Michael Goodwin, President of the Office and Professional Employees International Union and Julie Kushner, Director of Region 9A of the United Auto Workers. In the photos below from the event, taken by Director of Media Services Rob Spencer, Sheila and Bob are joined by WDL Executive Director Jon Bloom, WDL staffer and retired OSA member Joel Leichter and a range of OSA members, staff and board members.

Rally to Protect and Preserve Public housing - 5/17/12

A demonstration called by Local 375 of District Council 37, AFSCME and supported by OSA was held in front of the central offices of the New York City Housing Authority, protesting the federal underfunding of public housing and the constant outsourcing of civil service jobs by NYCHA to private firms and consultants. OSA Chair Bob Croghan spoke at the rally.

Photos from the rally take by Director of Media Services Rob Spencer appear below. Speakers included Local 375 officers Behrouz Fathi, Jon Forster, Michelle Keller, Michael Rosenberg, Joshua Barnett, City Councilmembers Darlene Mealy, Leticia James and Leroy Comrie, DC37 Assistant Director Henry Garrido, DC37 President Eddie Rodriguez and many others.

May Day Rally & March - 5/1/12

On May 1, 2012, immigrants' rights activists, labor rights activists, union members and Occupy Wall Street came together for a day without the 99%. After direct action by OWS members in midtown, a huge rally was held at Union Square starting at 4pm, followed by a march of approximately 25,000 people from Union Square down Broadway past Wall Street to celebrate International Workers Day. OSA fielded a contingent of nearly 60. Those who joined the OSA contingent and whose names we were able to jot down were: Sherman Gould, Nancy Russell, John Harper, Sheila Gorsky, Bob Croghan, Tom Anderson, Renee Bash, Leonard Glassberg, Stephen Parker, Sam Sills, Carlos Viguera, Joe Sperling, Michael Spector, Zaron Spector, Marilyn Percy, Stephen O’Brien, Jay Warshofsky, Ron Lehman, Rob Spencer, John Mazzarella, Vladimir Vizner, Sean Dillon, Elena Roman, Keith Kelly, Cecelia McCarthy, Peggy Crull, Verina Hilton Thomas, Gail Ferrero, John Berman, Annette Moore and Nanette Beatrice.

Below are photos of the event taken by OSA Director of Media Services Rob Spencer.